General Discussion

Community Testimonies

Read 3294 times

compmend

• 2 Posts
    • View Profile
My testimony of faith
« on: September 02, 2016, 09:25:56 pm »

As a child my father dragged me to a Baptist church down the road from our home. I didn't protest that much because of the kool-aid, cookies, and other goodies that the Sunday school class passed out, as a reward for being good. At the age of ten I was asked to repeat John 3:16 and say a prayer, then I was Baptized the following Sunday. I was too young to understand what I had done and I believe that I was not truly saved.

I went on to live like the Devil and I were competing for a trophy. That being said the further I got from God, the stronger the innate desire within me to worship something, anything, got. I started studying different religions from around the world, I read books on everything from Satanism to Runemal (The art of Rune casting). I tried to read the Bible but, it all seemed like Old English gibberish to me, and although I really liked the book of Proverbs, because of the simple words of wisdom, the rest of the Bible remained a darkly shrouded mystery to me as a person who at the time felt "spiritual", but, did not identify as a Christian.

One day tragedy struck and a close friend of mine was killed while crossing the street. This experience made me question my own mortality. I remembered that the preacher in Sunday school said that if we died without being saved, we would burn in Hell for eternity, but, I asked myself "What if he was wrong?", "What if I chose Christianity and I burned in eternal flames because the true God was that of another religion?"