Maxximiliann

• 1547 Posts
    • View Profile
Re: Why is goodness necessarily a property of God?
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2019, 12:29:39 pm »
If you want them to love you back, they have to know you love them and they are much more likely to know that if they feel it.

So all the philosophizing in the world about God's goodness is meaningless to people who don't feel God's goodness.
You baffle me, because you state that it is possible to “feel” another’s love for you, but I find no such powers or apprehensions within myself. I can feel love for another, but I have no experience of their love for me. If they love me in return there may be occasional subtle signs, but my role in the relationship is to stoke my own love fires. Love isn’t an exchange. I have no power over the love of the other, nor experience of it. It looks like you are going with the historical notion here that love is a form of exchange. But, what are you doing as you wait for the other to love you? Isn’t that laziness or inattentiveness?

Additionally, if one wishes to be loved, one should bends one’s efforts into making oneself worthy of love. Then all rational people will respond with love, and not just in the family. Unfortunately the religions are not of much help here, offering the easy excuse of an inherently sinful nature and failing to present any plan for remaking oneself into a good companion for the other created souls. One has to wonder especially if repeated choruses of “I am a sinner,” would be more pleasing in God’s ears, than, “Let me help.”

If I may, have you ever been diagnosed with ASD?
May the “God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory . . . give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the accurate knowledge of him." -Ephesians 1:17

jayceeii

• 487 Posts
    • View Profile
Re: Why is goodness necessarily a property of God?
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2019, 06:05:23 pm »