Read 255 times

Johan Biemans (jbiemans)

• 12582 Posts
  • WCBP - http://tinyurl.com/agmwhpj
    • View Profile
Intercessory prayer
« on: September 09, 2019, 01:15:33 pm »
Hey,

This is a question for those that believe that God actually steps in to answer prayers.  Also as a note, this will likely only apply to things that are directly asked of God, so if you believe that prayer is just a means for you to talk to God and have a conversation rather than actually asking God for things, this will not apply to you.

So with that said, how does God go about answering a prayer ?  Lets say for example that I prayed to pass my test tomorrow.  How does God go about answering that prayer ?  Does he:

- Grant me improved cognitive functions so I will better remember the material I am studying (wouldn't this be cheating, like taking steroids?)
- Get the teacher to write the questions that are the same as I actually remember (wouldn't this be a violation of the teachers free will ?)
- Change my answers after I write them to the correct ones (again cheating ?)

Etc.  I don't see a method where the prayer could be answered that doesn't result in the direct manipulation of someones will, or outright cheating.  Does someone see something I don't ?

What if I prayed to find my lost car keys ?  Does God move the keys to a place I can easily find them ?  Won't that backfire if I do remember where I left them after praying and go to look and they have been moved ?  Or would God know I would remember and not move the keys in that case ?  Wouldn't it be amazing if the missing keys were just popped into my hands while praying ?  Does he manipulate my brain to insert the location of the keys ? Is that ok because I asked for it, or is it a violation of my autonomy ?  If the former, why wouldn't God grant me other information when I prayed for it, like the cure to cancer or how to solve a complex math problem, why just the location of my keys ?